Google To Show Your Photo To 1 Billion Users

Screen Shot 2013-10-11 at 3.20.25 PM

Google To Show Your Photo To 1 Billion Users

Google will be soon showing your photo to over potentially 1 billion users. Here’s a statement from the company:

We want to give you – and your friends and connections – the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d. This only happens when you take an action (things like +1’ing, commenting or following) – and the only people who see it are the people you’ve chosen to share that content with.

What will the photos be used for? Anything, says the company. Google could be using your photo for just about anything according to its new Terms of Service. If you have a Google Account with a photo on there, it is now fair game.

Google could be using your photo for things like restaurant reviews and things of that nature alongside search results that match what your friends (or anyone) is searching for.

This is in an effort to make their search results more interactive and show actual review of places.

It’s unclear what kind of privacy issues, user complaints, and lawsuits this could spark along with frankly just mad people that remove their photo.

Related Posts

About The Author

Add Comment